About Us‎ > ‎


On June 13, 1989, the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission was created by gubernatorial executive order to implement a statewide litter‑prevention and recycling program. The commission consisted of 30 prominent Arkansans appointed by Gov. Bill Clinton.

Kay Kelly Arnold of Little Rock
Jerry Atchley of Little Rock, chairman
Ken Bernard of Little Rock
L.W. “Bill” Clark of Hot Springs
LaVerne Feaster of Little Rock
Effie Frazier of Hope
Jimmie Lou Fisher of Little Rock
Billy Freeman of Pine Bluff
Kathy Gardner of Little Rock
Carl Garner of Tumbling Shoals
Joy Lancaster Greer of Little Rock
Edwin N. “Ed” Hanlon of Little Rock
Peggy Harris of Little Rock, executive coordinator
Ada Hollingsworth of Hot Springs
Betty Hughes of Monticello
Bill Kennedy III of Little Rock
Calvin King of Brinkley
Bill Kilpatrick of Rogers
Maurice Lewis of Little Rock
Margaret Lindsey of Camden
Carolyn Long of Fort Smith
Lyda Merkle of El Dorado
Dale Nicholson of Little Rock
Al Pollard of Little Rock, honorary commissioner
Carolyn Qualls of Fort Smith
Dr. Hampton Roy of Little Rock
Carmelita Smith of Little Rock
Carolyn Speed of Fort Smith
Sam D. Thompson of Pine Bluff
Cheryl M. Thornton of Hot Springs
Margaret Whillock of Little Rock
Joe Dan Yee of Lake Village