Programs‎ > ‎

School Involvement: Litter-Free Zone

The Keep Arkansas Beautiful Foundation's Litter-Free Zone program, initially funded by a Walmart Foundation grant and designed for elementary and middle-school grade levels, encourages students to apply the program’s service-learning principles in class, on campus, in the school’s neighborhood and eventually throughout the community. Students participating in the Litter-Free Zone program become “Litter Scene Investigators.” As they discover litter on campus and apply critical thinking, they question where it comes from and who or what might be responsible for creating it. As students collect and analyze their findings, they create solutions for controlling and eliminating the problem, using skills from other core curricula, including math, science, social studies, English and art. They also visit with local law enforcement officers to learn about litter laws and enforcement practices. To date, this Keep Arkansas Beautiful Foundation program has been implemented in 26 schools across the state:

  • Belwood Elementary (North Little Rock)
  • Berryville Intermediate (Berryville)
  • Berryville Middle School (Berryville)
  • Carver Magnet Elementary (Little Rock)
  • East End Elementary (Sheridan)
  • East End Intermediate (Sheridan)
  • Eureka Springs Elementary (Eureka Springs)
  • Happy Hollow Elementary (Fayetteville)
  • Holcomb Elementary (Fayetteville)
  • Ida Burns Elementary (Conway)
  • Leverett Elementary (Fayetteville)
  • North Heights Elementary (North Little Rock)
  • Park Hill Elementary (North Little Rock)
  • Pike View Elementary (North Little Rock)
  • Prairie Grove Middle School (Prairie Grove)
  • R.E. Baker Elementary (Bentonville)
  • Root Elementary (Fayetteville)
  • Sherwood Elementary (Sherwood)
  • Seventh Street Elementary (North Little Rock)
  • Sugar Creek Elementary (Bentonville)
  • Sylvan Hills Elementary (Sherwood)
  • Tate Elementary (Van Buren)
  • Thomas Jefferson Elementary (Bentonville)
  • Washington Elementary (Fayetteville)
  • Washington Magnet Elementary (Little Rock)
  • Willis Shaw Elementary (Springdale).